The 2010 ARIA’s have popped my blogging cherry

Hellooo..this is my first blog EVER.  I created this site to review and provide walk-through to adventure video games, however given the epic failure of the 2010 ARIA’s I feel I need to take a moment to give my thoughts.

Now I don’t like award shows in general really but I haven’t watched the ARIA’s in years because the direction Australian music is headed (Tasmania) does not appeal to me.  However, by chance last night I managed to catch the last 30 mins of it and the hilarious twitter rants on it got me curious.

I have to start off by saying that anyone who sat through this entire show deserves a medal and anyone who attended (and stayed) deserves to have themselves admitted.  This morning I was trawling the net reading article after article pointing out who and what was shit about the ARIA’s (particularly some of the presenters) and trashing the hell out of them.  The responsibility ultimately lies with Channel 10.  I don’t know who the event planners or the script writers were for this event but Channel 10 would have hired them so this is where I believe the blame needs to rest.

I’ll now point out some epic failure moments (won’t be anything different to what other people have identified).

Mumford and Sons winning over Taylor Swift and Lady Gaga

The reality is I have come to expect this type of stupidity from whoever decides these awards.  I have only heard one of Mum n Son’s songs and it was one too many.  But I know Australians, they would have heard this and been all like “Oh hey this band sound shit therefore they must be good so I am gonna become their number 1 fan”  I call this the Underground phenomenon and it basically consists of people not wanting to be labelled mainstream and attempting to like bands they think are underground.  The problem with this is that the public define underground as anything that isn’t pop.  This is how your mum ‘n sons and Birds of Tokyo become successful.  Oh well, the damage is done now Australian public.  I would have liked to have talked on the Telephone with Lady Gaga about this but I couldn’t because she didn’t win the award  .

Ricki-Lee and Eric Stonestreet segment

I need to start this one by saying I don’t really think this was Ricki’s fault.  She seems to be an upbeat happy chick who tried her best but was given nothing to work with and we know that anything, doesn’t matter how good it is, times by nothing = nothing.  I’m not sure what kind of script she was given though because although Eric Stonestreet is openly gay to mock it with a stereotypical limp hand is not funny to anyone and for a minute there I thought Ricki had a sudden case of MS because I just didn’t think there was any way anyone would include that into a script.  Eric is hilarious in Modern Family and the ARIA’s could have done so much more with him and made a really good segment.  At this stage I wouldn’t mind hearing from the script writers just to see exactly what they were trying to accomplish.

Jessica Mauboy – The De-BUTT of all jokes for the rest of the week

Poor Jess, while this mistake was a corker, I can look past it for two reasons.  1)  She lost Idol to a leprachaun 2) The flirting she was doing with Geoff Hueghill post stomach staple operation.  Poor Geoff didn’t know what to do.  In my opinion he had two options; To jump into a pool and drown like he did at the commonwealth games, or to pop those staples and drown himself in self made fat like he did 2 years ago.

Layout

I don’t have an issue with the awards being outside.  One thing I don’t like about a lot of awards shows is that artist goes on stage and gives a performance to a bunch of celebs who are seated.  I like the idea of their being a standing audience up the front and I think shows like MTV Kids Choice Awards have got this bang on by having fans as the audience up the front and celebs seated behind them.  Best of the both worlds, to quote my girl Miley.  Unfortunately, because the whole thing was outside, everyone was standing, including the artists nobody seemed to know what was happening.  They should have had one stage where artists sang and where presenters presented.  From what i saw every award was presented somewhere different.

Another thing that got me was the lack of applause, I’m not sure if this was because the audience couldn’t hear properly because they were outside or not.  When Marcia Hines acknowledged  James Freud, who had passed away earlier last week to absolute silence, only to become applause AFTER Ronan visibly clapped, I was quite mortified.  Are we Australians really so insensitive?  I really don’t think we are but I think because of how this disaster was organised nobody knew what was happening.  Also, I believe that most years these awards shows have a segment that acknowledges industry greats who have passed away, this should have happened this year and it was disrespectful to the Australian music industry (doesn’t matter what my opinions are of it) that it didn’t.

I hope at the very least that Channel 10 have the event planners and script writers fired and that they have learnt something from this.

I give the 2010 ARIA’s 1/4 of a can out of a 4 pack of V.

Can i just say that this has gone up unedited, I like writing but my grammar sucks.  I’ll try and get a cleaner version up at some point.

 

About needlefeast

I’m getting there and getting got
This entry was posted in music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment